Cambridge County Council and Mayoral elections 2017: All you need to know

Lili Bidwell 5 May 2017

On Thursday 4th May 2017 there were 49 polling stations open throughout Cambridge for the County Council and Mayoral elections. In Cambridge city there were 12 councillors being elected in addition to a Mayor for the Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Combined Authority. 

Elections were held throughout Cambridgeshire, in 59 divisions across the county for the election of 61 councillors in total. 

Out of the 12 city divisions in Cambridge there are 8 councillors seeking re-election, 4 Labour candidates, 3 Liberal Democrats and 1 independent candidate.

The current make-up of the council is:

Conservative: 32 seats

Liberal Democrat: 14 seats

UKIP: 10 seats

Labour: 8 seats

Independent: 5 seats

The boundaries have been re-assessed since the previous election meaning that there are now just 12 divisions in the city as opposed to the 14 in 2013. 

Follow our live-blog on twitter of the election results