Cambridge polo team edged by Bristol in Exeter Cup

15 April 2013

Cambridge University Polo Club lost to Bristol 9-12 in the final of the Exeter Cup, a university league held at Druids Lodge Polo Club in Salisbury.

These finals represented the culmination of many months of hard work, with a total of twelve teams in the tournament, ranging from traditional powerhouses like Exeter University, ULU (University of London Union) and the Royal Agricultural College (RAC), to relative newcomers like Southampton University. More than fifteen universities were represented in the competition, with two combined teams formed for students who were unable to form teams comprising of players solely from their own university.

Cambridge had the best record in the competition leading up to the finals, being the only team with a perfect record out of the group stages in either group, with 5 wins out of 5. This included close matches against ULU (9-8) as well as impressive victories against Southampton (15-3) and the Combined A team (14-3). In the semi-finals against favorites RAC, Cambridge edged them 10-9 in a very physical game.

In the final against Bristol University, Cambridge’s winning streak came to an end and the players were unlucky to lose 9-12. The Cambridge players controlled large parts of the game but were often unable to convert possession into goals. This was not helped by conceding three late goals in the final minute of the match. Nonetheless, this year’s second place finish represents an improvement from last year’s third place, and the team did well to get so far in the competition.

The Cambridge team was captained by Imran Jumabhoy, who played all 7 games. Throughout the tournament, Jumabhoy was complemented by Casra Labelle (4 games), George Ulmann (3 games), James Marshall (2 games), Oli Lawrence (2 games), Simon Bewsey Dyke (1 game), Karin Bergvall (1 game) and Simon Wolf (1 game).

Imran Jumabhoy led the scoring for Cambridge with an average of 6 goals per game. However, his achievements were eclipsed by Bristol’s Max Grace, who took home the overall MVP prize for the league.

Imran Jumabhoy

Photo Credit: Cambridge University Polo Club