CUSU Michaelmas Elections results announced

Catherine Lally 6 November 2017

Voting for the CUSU Michaelmas Elections closed on Thursday at 5pm, and the results were announced at noon on Monday. The Elections saw last year’s turnout doubled, as 1,696 students voted, out of the University’s total enrolment of 19,672.

This year saw an unusually high number of students running as NUS delegates, each of whom was interviewed by TCS last week. The winning candidates were: Miriam Gauntlett, Connor MacDonald, Lola Olufemi, Angus Satow, and Carine Valarché. They will represent Cambridge students at the National Conference in March, and vote on NUS policy.

There were several other positions up for grabs. Other results include Dylan Amis and Ellen Pearce-Davies as Ethical Affairs Officers. The new Part-Time Executive members were also elected, and will join existing CUSU teams while continuing with their studies. Matt Kite and Jason Okundaye were voted in for Education, Jin Choi and Fieke van der Spek for Ethical Affairs, Miranda Hewkin Smith and Angela Xia for Union Development, and Carolyn Irvine and Felicity Kersting for Welfare & Rights.