Varsity Round-up

Andrew Aistrup 13 March 2012


A dramatic 9-9 draw saw Cambridge retain the Cup by virtue of last year’s victory. In a game full of twists and turns the Light Blues clawed their way back from three goals behind to lead 9-8 with five minutes remaining.

Oxford equalised to set up an electrifying finale, but in the end there was nothing to separate the teams.


Despite victories for the second teams, both the men and women’s Blues suffered defeat. The women put in a valiant display against a team two divisions ahead of them while the men strove to stay with their opponents, but eventually the Dark Blues ran away with a decisive win.

Athena Tan


A 6-3 defeat left the Red Lion squad reflecting on what might have been. A dubious points decision against Sebastian Pender meant the competition was over before Cambridge recorded their first win but Borna Guevel, Chris Webb and Chris Meurice nevertheless restored some Light Blue pride in the heavier weight bouts.

Chris Meurice


In a fiercely contested encounter Oxford edged the win after victories for the Men’s 1st team and both the 1st and 2nd team Ladies’ Matches. However, the

Men’s 2nd team were triumphant, winning in straight sets.

Elana Osen


The 2-1 final scoreline was not indicative of a match where Cambridge had created many opportunities. 1-0 behind at half time, a delightful free kick from Amelia Southgate drew the sides level. Against the run of play, Oxford snatched victory in the last ten minutes.

Marielle Brown and Jon Mackenzie


For the eighth consecutive year Cambridge ran out victors. The result was decided on the speed event where the Light Blues perfected their tactics, utilising their strongest swimmers expertly to claim a narrow 4-3 overall win.

Phil Sheppard


With 50 minutes on the clock, Cambridge led 8-6 but a torrid final quarter saw them fall to a 28-8 defeat. The Light Blues’ sole try came from Keno Omu while Julie Valade kicked a penalty.

Keno Omu


A fantastic weekend saw Cambridge triumph, claiming the Varsity trophy. They completed a clean sweep as they won the A, B and C competitions. Andrew Pirrie and David Chapman put in star performances.

Andrew Aistrup